Xanthan Gum

Updated 7 months ago by Jamie Armstrong

Xanthan gum is an emulsifier derived from Xanthomonas campestris, a bacteria. The bacteria is fed a sugar derived from corn, soy, sugar cane, beets, or wheat.

Xanthan gum is a refined product, and should be free of protein, but some individuals allergic to the foods above have reported reactions to xanthan gum. Those with an intolerance or a less-sensitive allergy may be able to consume products containing xanthan gum without becoming symptomatic, so products that contain it should not automatically be ruled out.

Was this Helpful? Reach Out (top right) for More Help

Powered by HelpDocs